Joy Baltimore pays homage to some unsung Baltimore heroes on Saturday, January 25th, 4 to 8 pm as it presents the 2020 “Unsung Legends Awards.” The glitzy black-tie and black-carpet event will be held at The Garage (6 East Lafayette Avenue, Baltimore), and will “honor extraordinary people who have excelled in the areas of mentoring, leadership, empowerment, advocacy, entertainment, and community outreach.”

Awardees include

  • addiction expert Sakina Dean
  • university activist Nweze Chinedu Nwokeafor
  • Baltimore Black Pride Co-Founder Leroy Burgess, Jr.
  • entrepreneur and homeless advocate Christina Flowers
  • homeless outreach manager Domnic Usher
  • urban educator Ashley DeVaughn
  • Rev. Angela Christina Bullock
  • activist Marcus Henry
  • distinguished trainer Tyrell D. Moyd
  • activist Angela Denise Wharton
  • conflict resolution mediator Darnyle Wharton
  • activists Muhammad Najee-Ullah and Robert L. Moore of FullBlast STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, & Mathematics) and the PURGG Project (Pop-Up Robotic Gaming Grounds)
  • LGBT ally Dawn Garrett
  • health educator Rev. Kimberly Lagree
  • school principal Shantay McKinily
  • youth and family advocate Tracey Estep
  • youth and housing advocate Renee Stainrod
  • activist Terry Williams, aka “Uncle-T”
  • entrepreneur and master barber Shanile Shakoor
  • experienced traveler and volunteer Tiana Carmella Bell, aka “Solo”
  • CEO Demaune A. Millard
  • youth advocate Erica Myers
  • entrepreneurship expert Jennifer Clark

Admission is $54.67 and includes food, music, dancing, and a silent art auction. Tables of ten are $744.24 and include all the above as well as complimentary gift bags and a bottle for the table. Tickets are available online at For more info and full biographies of the honorees, visit